About Us

We work hard to make personal finances easy to understand and treat all our members as part of the extended family

About Us

Foresters Board

Foresters Friendly Society’s Executive and Non-Executive Board members are listed below. Click on the ‘show info’ link next to each person’s name to view a short biography. 


Myles Edwards - Membership Director

Myles Edwards

Myles was elected to the Board in June 2016. He was previously Commercial and Distribution Director at Age UK Enterprises Ltd. where he was responsible for developing and implementing the new commercial and distribution model. He has extensive experience as a Director in Financial Services and Social Enterprise. Myles is a member of the Royal London Independent Governance Committee.  

Member of the Membership Committee.

Rachel Hardy - Finance Director

Rachel Hardy

Rachel re-joined the Society in September 2017 and was co-opted to the Board having previously held the role of Head of Finance.  She has over 15 years’ experience in both commercial companies and large accountancy practices enabling her to approach issues from both a commercial and regulatory perspective.  Prior to re-joining the Society, she was with Smith & Williamson LLP, where she was a statutory Director of one of the group’s subsidiary companies and a senior statutory auditor for the firm.  She has a BSc in Mathematics from Imperial College, London, and is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

Member of the Investment Committee.


John Instance - Chairman

John was appoJohn Instanceinted to the Board in December 2012. In June 2016 he was appointed to the position of Chairman for which regulatory approval was subsequently received. He retired in 2015 from his role as Acting Director, Actuarial Policy in the Codes and Standards Division at the Financial Reporting Council. His experience includes business management, product development, actuarial reporting, as well as setting and overseeing Business Plans. John is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries and has a BA in Mathematics from Oxford.

Chairman of the Nominations Committee and member of the Investment Committee. 

Trevor Batten - Non-Executive Director

Trevor BattenTrevor was elected to the Board in June 2016. Prior to his retirement in 2015, he held the position of Risk Director and CRO for Engage Mutual where he worked for 22 years and was a member of the Executive Committee.  His experience includes risk management, actuarial reporting and with-profits business. He is a Director of Family Assurance Staff Pension Scheme Trustees which provides trustee services to the Family Assurance Staff Pensions Scheme and the Homeowner Friendly Society Pension Scheme.  

Chairman of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee, Reserving Committee, With-Profits and Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangements.

Graham Setterfield - Non-Executive Director   Senior Independent Director 

Graham Setterfield

Graham was elected to the Board in June 2015. Graham previously held the positions of Director and Chief Executive for American Express Insurance Services Europe Limited as well as various marketing and management positions within the insurance sector including Àegon.  Graham has a HND in Business Studies from the University of West England. Now semi-retired Graham is involved with the Prince’s Trust as an Enterprise & Next Steps Scheme Business Mentor.

Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.  He is also a member of the Nominations and the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee, and the With-Profits and Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangements.


Erik Vynckier - Non-Executive Director

Eric VynckierErik was elected to the Board in June 2016. He is a partner of InsurTech Venture Partners and Chief Investment Officer (Europe) of Eli Global LLC, following a career in banking, insurance, asset management and petrochemical industry. He co-founded EU initiatives on high performance computing and big data in finance. Erik graduated as MBA at London Business School and as chemical engineer at Universiteit Gent.

Chairman of the Investment Committee and a member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.   

Helen Mackinnon - Non-Executive Member Director

Helen MackinnonHelen was elected to the Board in June 2016. She is a fifth generation Forester who has been an active member since age 16 and held many positions within the Court structure. She is a qualified Chartered Certified Accountant and in 2013 obtained her law degree. Her experience includes audit, business management advice, cash flows, accounts and tax. Helen is the owner and Director of H2H Accountancy Limited, Trustee and Treasurer for Herriot Hospice Homecare charity and Company Secretary to Bean Creative Limited and Bay Dreamer Yachts Limited.

Member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee, Nominations and Remuneration Committees and the With-Profits and Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangements.



View Company Reports and Governance >>