The board

  • Rachel Hardy

    Chief Executive

    Rachel has had a long association with Foresters stretching back to 2006 when she was part of the external audit team performing the Society’s annual financial audit.  Rachel, impressed by the Society’s culture and member focus, then joined us as Head of Finance in January 2015.  After a brief interlude back in consulting, she re-joined us as Finance Director in September 2017 and was elected to the Board as an Executive Director in June 2018.  In January 2020 Rachel was appointed as Chief Executive, incorporating the responsibilities of the Chief Finance Officer.

    She has 20 years’ experience in commercial businesses and large accountancy practices enabling her to approach issues from both a strategic and regulatory perspective.  Prior to joining the Society, she was with Smith & Williamson LLP, where she was a statutory Director of one of the group’s subsidiary companies and a Senior Statutory Auditor.  Rachel has a BSc in mathematics from Imperial College, London and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

    Member of the Investment Committee

  • John Instance


    John was appointed to the position of Chairman in June 2016 having been a Non-Executive member of the Board since December 2012.

    John retired in 2015 from his role as Acting Director, Actuarial Policy in the Codes and Standards Division at the Financial Reporting Council.  His experience includes business management, product development, actuarial reporting, as well as setting and overseeing Business Plans.  John is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries and has a BA in Mathematics from Oxford.

    Chairman of the Investment Committee, Nominations Committee and Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangement.

  • Trevor Batten

    Non-Executive Director

    Trevor was elected to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in June 2016.

    Prior to his retirement in 2015, he held the position of Risk Director and CRO for Engage Mutual where he worked for 22 years and was a member of the Executive Committee.  His experience includes risk management, actuarial reporting and with-profits business.  He is a Director of Family Assurance Staff Pension Scheme Trustees which provides trustee services to the Family Assurance Staff Pension Scheme and the Homeowners Friendly Society Pension Scheme.  Trevor is a Fellow of the Institute and Faculty of Actuaries.

    Chairman of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.  He is also a member of the Investment Committee and Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangement.

  • Graham Setterfield

    Non-Executive Director and Senior Independent Director

    Graham was elected to the Board as a Non-Executive Director in June 2015 and appointed Senior Independent Director in June 2017.

    Graham previously held the positions of Director and Chief Executive for American Express Insurance Services Europe Limited as well as various marketing and management positions within the insurance sector including Aegon.  Graham has an HND in Business Studies from the University of West England.  Now semi-retired Graham is involved with the Prince’s Trust as an Enterprise & Next Steps Scheme Business Mentor.

    Chairman of the Remuneration Committee and With-Profits Advisory Arrangement.  He is also a member of the Nominations Committee and the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

  • Helen Mackinnon

    Non-Executive Member Director

    Helen was elected to the Board as Non-Executive Member Director in June 2016.

    Helen is a fifth generation Forester who has been an active member since age 16 and held many positions within the Court structure.  She is a qualified Chartered Certified Accountant and in 2013 obtained her law degree.  Her experience includes audit, business management advice, cash flows, accounts and tax.  Helen is the owner and Director of H2H Accountancy Limited, Trustee and Treasurer for Herriot Hospice Homecare charity and Company Secretary to Bean Creative Limited and Bay Dreamer Yachts Limited.

    Member of the Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee, Investment Committee, Remuneration Committee, Unit-Linked Advisory Arrangement and With-Profits Advisory Arrangement.